Let’s talk paper

Thanks for joining me. I hope everyone is safe and well. Just as we thought 2020 couldn’t get anymore challenging, we are faced with sad circumstances. On a positive note, it is great that we can still still come together to witness the revolution of space exploration. I grew up during a time that NASA was embraced and it’s exciting to see that become a reality again.

I’m not here to create a forum about our differences but here to create a place where we can share our creativity and gather inspiration. So, on that note……LET’S TALK PAPER!

We all create things differently and have different design tastes, but we still use the staples, like paper! I am a big paper crafter and have realized that not all paper is created equal. We see some retailers or influencers tell us that the paper doesn’t matter but the other products do, and we have some tell us only the paper matters. So which is it? We kind of have to figure that our on our own. I am here to share my experience with you and hope it helps guide you the next time you are walking the craft store isles.

FIRST, let’s talk watercolor paper. In my experience, this DOES matter. Water generally breaks down paper and eventually rips it. The thicker the watercolor paper, the better. There are different textures, hot or cold pressed. I’m not a scientist so I will share that Strathmore watercolor paper cold pressed 300 series is my favorite. It is thick enough to take on a lot of water and allow the colors to remain as vibrant as you want them. I am a stamping water-colorist because my free hand skills aren’t great. This paper can handle it all and remain intact. Water coloring on regular card stock, no matter how thick can be a mess. This is my best recommendation. The price point is a bit higher but so is the quality (get your coupons out!)

NEXT up let’s discuss mixed media paper. There is a world of mixed media paper to be discovered. I don’t just watercolor, so mixed media papers are my go to. Especially when Michael’s has BOGO! I’ve experimented in this area a lot. My work horse has been Canson XL mixed media paper 98 lb. I can watercolor without the paper pilling as long as I do not stay in the same area for too long (it’s not Strathmore but it’s versatile). I can use my prismacolor pencils and gamsol on this paper and I can use my alcohol markers without a problem. The price point is great too, that’s why it’s my most used.

Another mixed media paper I have tried is also a Strathmore, but mixed media (98lb) I got this at Target. Now that Target has spruced up their craft section I always have to look. This price point is a little more than the Canson XL and the quality does NOT hold up. I was very disappointed. The paper pills with very little water and it smears other mediums. I do not know if the quality was subpar because it was sold at Target or if it is just that paper. Either way, there are plenty of other products to spend your money on. Let’s talk about those!

As we keep moving along, lets address marker paper. I’m specifically referring to alcohol markers when discussing this paper but the marker world is large, so please share your experiences with me in the comments below. Ok, We’ve rounded back to Strathmore again. I LOVE their marker paper 400 series 50 lb. It is smooth, spreads the color beautifully and does not soak it in. Your projects remain vibrant and clear. Again, another great Micheal’s BOGO opportunity! This price point is comparable to that of Canson XL, so even without a sale, you get your money’s worth. On a side note, I have used Crafter’s Companion alochol marker paper and really enjoy that too. It is harder to find in retail but is sold online and HSN. I feel the better deal is the Strathmore because Hey, I make mistakes and throw things out sometimes. I don’t feel like I’m loosing with the Strathmore when that happens.

OK, those are a few of my favorite papers. I hope this helps you. The options can be overwhelming. Please share with me your favorite papers in the comments below. Don’t forget to checkout my Instagram/Facebook: @sewmuchglitter for the projects I have completed with these papers. And tag me #sewmuchglitter in the projects you have used or tried because of my recommendations. I realize this was long-winded but chats can be that way.

If there’s a project you’d love to see, tell me in the comments below. I’ll be back very soon! Checkout Instagram for sneak peeks.

Leave a comment